Bob's Board - Chesterfield FC: What Might The Future Be For Cfc Under Paul Cook? - Bob's Board - Chesterfield FC

• (2 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

What Might The Future Be For Cfc Under Paul Cook?

#2 User is offline   Phil V 72 

• First Team Player
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 15 April 2014 - 08:47 AM

I'll nail my colours to the mast from the start, I'm a Paul Cook fan. Whilst we all get worked up about the 90 minutes on the pitch, there are quite a few strings to a manager's bow. To some extent the art of identification, recruitment and retention of players is arguably just as important as the minutes on the pitch in terms of the club and how they progress.

Paul Cook has added some real quality to CFC in the last 18 months, off the top of my head I can think of

O'Shea
Cooper
Roberts
Ryan
Morsy
Gardner
Banks
Doyle
Gnanduillet
Evatt

Also Brindley was spotted by PC before being poached by Mrs Doubtfire up the road. It's clear he knows how to spot a player and get them here.

While PC has had his knockers for team selection, substitutions and failure to recuit a goalscorer I would say that what he offers the club is more valuable going forward through astute player aquisitions and firm foundations for the future. Sheridan's 2010/11 team was a house built on sand and the 2011/12 team had a huge amount of loan players trying to plug the gap as a result. Cook's team isn't like that and whilst it needs improving for next season, it is has a solid base that should serve us well.

I hope he remains here for some time as I think he will establish us as a top 10 L1 club in time and provide a springboard for a flirt with the Championship beyond that.
If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything.

#3 User is offline   SpireiteStan 

• Youth Team Player
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 15 April 2014 - 09:32 AM